A damage judgment (DJN) is a court action taken by a plaintiff against an uninsured motorist defendant (you). A DJN results from a motor vehicle crash with unpaid damages of $500 or more.
Once a DJN has been entered and the appeal period has passed, the plaintiff or their attorney may ask the court to certify the DJN to the DMV.
required to suspend your driver license and vehicle registration(s) after receiving the following from the court:
- Certificate of Judgment form
- Notice of Entry of Judgment
You must contact the plaintiff or your attorney to arrange to settle a DJN. The suspension remains on the driver record for 5 years (WI Statute 344.26 (1) (a)) from the court date or until one of the following documents is filed with the DMV:
- Court ordered installment agreement - A court ordered payment plan which is signed by a judge and has a court certification stamp; this must be submitted to Wisconsin DMV
- Satisfaction of Judgment - a form certified through the court that states the DJN has been paind in full (partial satisfaction is not accepted)
- Bankruptcy - A certified copy of the bankruptcy petition which has the date filed and court case number included
- Expunge or Vacate Order – A court stamped order that expunges or vacates the DJN (this exempts the defendant from complying with the reinstatement requirements)
If you default on an agreement, the plaintiff can notify DMV and your driver license and vehicle registrations will be suspended.
When DMV receives acceptable documentation of compliance with the DJN requirements, you may reinstate your driver license and vehicle registrations when you:
- Provide an
SR22 insurance certificate and maintain it for three years; this starts on the date of reinstatement eligibility
- Pay reinstatement
fees for the driver license (may be done
online if all conditions are met)
- Pay reinstatement
fees for the vehicle registrations (payable by mail or at a DMV Service Center only)
For more information: Wisconsin Chapter 344