DMV fees

​Wisconsin DMV accepts the following forms of payment:

  • Credit/Debit cards*: MasterCard, Visa, Discover (and American Express in person at DMV Service Centers)
  • PayPal* is available with some online services
  • ACH (Automated Clearing House) deducts fees directly from your checking or savings account with no added convenience/service fee
  • Checks made payable to "Registration Fee Trust"
  • Cash option is available ONLY at DMV Customer Service Centers. Do NOT mail cash.

*Note: When using credit card, debit card, PayPal, a must be added.

Fees collected support the Department of Transportation budget.

Credit and debit card companies, and PayPal charge a fee to all retailers every time their card or service is used. DMV must add a convenience/service fee of up to 2.35% to cover the fees charged by these companies.

All DMV fees are set by statute and, as a state agency, WisDOT cannot use these fees to cover the costs of accepting these third-party payments.

The convenience/service fee is a percentage of the cost of the product or service. You will see the amounts of the product and the convenience/service fee displayed separately before you complete the transaction.

Payment without convenience/service fee

Some WisDOT online services accept payments through ACH (Automated Clearing House) which deducts WisDOT fees directly from your bank account, with no added convenience/service fee. If available for the product or service you need, follow the ACH instructions on the webpage to pay.

Counter services Fees
Disabled ID cards at DMV customer service center$3 plus Disabled ID card fee, if temporary disability
Registration renewal transaction at DMV customer service center offering registration services$3 plus regular registration fee
Title and registration at DMV customer service center offering registration services$5 plus regular title and registration fee
Title and registration service providersMaximum service fee of $10 for a registration renewal transaction or $19.50 for a title transaction

Regular driver license (DL):Fees
Instruction permit (Class D) (18 months)$35
Instruction permit renewal (18 months)$35
​Knowledge and Signs tests
Original probationary (Class D)
(expires 2 years from next birthday)
Original regular (Class D)
(8 year)
Renewal (8 year)$34
Occupational (court ordered)$40
Skills exam (Class D) – charged for every appointment not canceled 24 hours in advance$15
Renewal late fee: Drivers who fail to renew their driver license by their birthday will pay a late fee in addition to the usual driver license fee.$5

Motorcycle license endorsement:
Instruction permit (6 months)$32
Instructional permit renewal (6 months)$32
Original (Class M)
(prorated on expiration of current license)
Renewal (8 year)$18
Skills exam (Class M)$15

Commercial driver license (CDL):
Commercial Learner Permit (CLP) (Class A, B, C)
(180 days)
Original (Class A, B, C)
(prorated for time remaining on existing Wisconsin driver license)
Renewal (Class A, B, C) (8 year) (includes Class D)$74
School bus endorsement (when renewing CDL with an existing S or transferring a CDL from another state with an existing S)$5 (plus CDL fee)
School bus endorsement (when adding S for the first time)$10
Hazardous Material Endorsement (HME) - payable to DMV and non-refundable.

Note: You will also be required to pay $23.75 for fingerprinting - payable to Fieldprint and non-refundable. Visit

$34 (if in conjunction with a CDL renewal)
Class upgrades$15 (one or more classes)
Endorsement upgrades$5 (each) plus a $10 issuance fee
Lifting restriction - "No CMV operation in interstate commerce"$14
Lifting restrictions - "No CMV operation with air brakes"$14 (plus skills exam fee paid to 3rd party examiner)
Knowledge test

Identification cards (ID):
Original (8 year) (if criteria are met)$28
Renewal (8 year)$28
For purposes of votingfree

Driver record abstracts:
Driver record abstract$7 per record
Certified driver records$12 per record
Public Abstract Request System (PARS)$5 per record search
Automated own record request$5

Other fees:
Reinstatement fee$60
Driver license reinstatement for OWI-related revocations or suspensions$200 (effective for violations on or after July 1, 2010)
ID card reinstatement from cancellation$28
Vehicle registration reinstatement for accident suspensions$50
Recertification of insurance
Crash report$6

See Motor carrier fees for the most current list and more information.

Other transactions Fees
Certificate of registration (duplicate)$2
Consecutive monthly registration fee (10,000 lbs. or more - restricted use)1/12th of annual registration fee per month plus $15 per application submitted. See specific registration type for conditions and prorated fee.
Convenience feeA percentage of the cost of the product or service to cover the fees charged by credit and debit card companies.
Disabled parking ID card (Permanent disability)No charge, except counter service fee when applicable
Disabled parking ID card (Temporary disability)$6 - up to six months
Electric vehicle surcharge$175 for autos and light trucks up to 8,000 lbs., except dual purpose farm; implemented January 2018
Hybrid electric vehicle surcharge$75 autos and light trucks up to 8,000 lbs., except dual purpose farm; implemented October 2019
Late registration renewal fee$10, in addition to regular registration renewal fee
Permit fee (annual fee for vehicles operated intrastate for hire)$5
Quarterly registration fee (10,000 lbs. or more - some restrictions)1/4th of annual registration fee per quarter plus $5 per application submitted. See specific registration type for prorated fee.
Registration file searches, including online searches$5 per search
Telephone authorization - Immediate registration for heavy vehicle$7.50 plus registration fee
$10 to cancel
Uninsured motorist registration fee$50
Unpaid check fee (Check returned for insufficient funds, etc.)$20 plus the amount of the unpaid check. $25 additional reinstatement fee required if not paid by due date. Payment must be by money order or certified check. Cash also accepted at a DMV customer service center.
Wheel tax (municipal or county registration fee for autos and light trucks)For more information:
Wheel tax

If you received a letter or postcard saying there are fees needing to be paid, use ePay online service button below to pay the remaining balance.

Note: Please update your address and/or vehicle kept in information before paying fees.

How to use the ePay online service:

  1. Review the letter/postcard
    • Review your letter/postcard to determine if additional action is required.
  2. Locate the envelope number on the letter/postcard. Find the envelope number after the words “PAY ONLINE.” Enter this number after you select “PAY NOW” below.
  3. Follow instructions for payment
ePay online service

The online payment is not complete until you receive a confirmation number at the end of the transaction.

If you do not know the envelope number, you may be able to search for open payments by using ePay open search to search by one of the following:

  • Vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • License plate number
  • Driver license number of vehicle title/registration owner
  • Social security number, name, and date of birth of vehicle title/registration owner
  • FEIN (Federal Employer Identification Number) of vehicle title/registration owner
    • If an FEIN is used for your organization under different names or addresses, you will not be able to use this search
  • Wisconsin motor vehicle dealer number (MV#) of vehicle title/registration owner
  • Wisconsin DMV-assigned secured party number of vehicle title/registration owner
Use ePay open search

  • Autocycle = $45
  • Automobile = $85
  • Motorcycle and mopeds = $23 (biennial)
  • Recreational vehicle trailer = $15
  • Special design vehicle = $5
Vehicle registration fee chart effective for October 1, 2019 registrations
(Annual fees are shown)


gross wgt.
purpose vehicle

Truck tractor

Dairy, raw forest products

Truck Truck tractor
Farm truck Farm
prod. trailer,
Farm truck tractor Spec. "UX" Motor home
All numbers in these columns are dollar amounts
A 4,500 $100.00 $50.00 $26.00 $44.00 $25.00 $18.00
5,000 48.50
B 6,000 100.00 50.00 118.00 36.50 54.50 25.00 43.00 18.00
C 8,000 106.00 53.00 124.00 43.00 61.00 26.50 44.50 18.00 55.00
X 10,000 155.00 77.50 173.00 60.00 78.00 38.75 56.75 18.00
D 12,000 209.00 104.50 227.00 77.50 95.50 *45.00 52.25 70.25 20.90 67.50
Y 14,000

246.00 61.50 24.50
E 16,000 283.00 283.00 301.00 109.50 127.50 70.75 70.75 88.75 28.30 80.50
F 20,000 356.00 356.00 374.00 142.00 160.00 89.00 89.00 107.00 35.60 93.50
G 26,000 475.00 475.00 493.00 190.50 208.50 118.75 118.75 136.75 47.50 106.50
H 32,000 609.00 609.00 627.00 245.00 263.00 152.25 152.25 170.25 60.90 119.50
J 38,000 772.00 772.00 790.00 309.50 327.50 193.00 193.00 211.00 77.20 119.50
K 44,000 921.00 921.00 939.00 371.00 389.00 230.25 230.25 248.25 92.10 119.50
L 50,000 1,063.00 1,063.00 1,081.00 425.50 443.50 265.75 265.75 283.75 106.30
M 54,000 1,135.00 1,135.00 1,153.00 456.00 474.00 283.75 283.75 301.75 113.50 119.50
N 56,000 1,209.00 1,209.00 1,227.00 487.00 505.00 302.25 302.25 320.25 120.90 119.50
P 62,000 1,367.00 1,367.00 1,385.00 551.50 569.50 341.75 341.75 359.75 136.70 119.50
Q 68,000 1,543.00 1,543.00 1,561.00 622.50 640.50 385.75 385.75 403.75 154.30 119.50
R 73,000 1,755.00 1,755.00 1,773.00 709.50 727.50 438.75 438.75 456.75 175.50 119.50
S 76,000 2,081.00 2,081.00 2,099.00 838.50 856.50 520.25 520.25 538.25 208.10 119.50
T 80,000 2,560.00 2,560.00 2,578.00 1,032.00 1,050.00 640.00 640.00 658.00 256.00 119.50
*12,000 lbs. gross weight farm trucks are registered biennially
  • Motor truck and trailer fees are based on the gross weight of the vehicle, including load.
  • Truck tractor fees are based on the gross weight of the combined unit, which consists of the tractor and semi-trailer and load.
  • Motor home and bus fees are based on the gross weight of the vehicle, including property and passengers.
  • In addition to the regular annual registration fee paid for a vehicle, all vehicles with automobile registration or truck registration at 8,000 lbs. or less (except dual purpose farm registration) may be subject to:
    • Wheel tax, based on where the vehicle is customarily kept
    • $75 hybrid electric vehicle surcharge
    • $175 electric vehicle surcharge

Vehicle titles Fees
Title - Original or transfer of title

$164.50 for original title or title transfer
$157 for a low speed vehicle
$0 (no fee) for title transfer to a surviving spouse or registered domestic partner

Title - replacement$20

Security interest (lien):

  • New listing
  • Duplicate lienholder confirmation form


Some special Wisconsin license plates have a $15 issuance fee plus annual registration fee for vehicle type. For specific and special plates, see detailed vehicle license plate fees

Late fee

Review your renewal notice carefully. The registration expiration date appears on the vehicle's Certificate of Registration and on the renewal notice.

A late fee of $10 is due for auto, light truck, motorcycle and moped renewals received by DMV after the date of expiration. You may legally operate your vehicle on Wisconsin public roads once you submit the renewal fee.

Vehicles registered over 8,000 pounds gross weight are exempt from late fees, but any vehicle operating after the expiration date is subject to law enforcement action.

How to pay missing fees

If you received a letter or postcard saying there are fees needing to be paid, use ePay online service.

For more information: