Reissuance of license plates

The start date of the next automatic reissuance has not been determined. If your plates are peeling, faded, or damaged, it remains your responsibility to replace them. Go to wisconsindmv.gov/vreplace.​​ New plates will arrive by mail.

What is license plate reissuance?

  • Reissuance is a process DMV uses to replace license plates that have exceeded their life cycle.
  • The oldest plates, not necessarily the most worn, will be scheduled for replacement over the coming years.

​When does it occur?

  • DMV will send new license plates automatically at the time a vehicle registration is up for renewal and the original plate has reached 10 or more years since issuance.
  • The cycle of replacing the oldest plates will continue over the coming years.

​How much does it cost?

  • ​​​​In addition to your license plate renewal fees, you will pay $8 for the replacement plates.​​

What license plates will be reissued?

  • ​Automobile and light truck plates with the standard sailboat and farm design are being replaced. This includes personalized plates.
  • Customers will receive new regular Wisconsin license plates with a new plate number (unless you have personalized plates) and year and month stickers.

​My plates are already peeling. Can I replace them early?

  • Yes, and then they will not automatically be replaced again during this cycle because the reissuance process only occurs every 10 years.
  • To replace early go to: wisconsindmv.gov/vreplace

My plates look fine, can I opt out of this replacement?

  • ​Unfortunately, no. Although the sheeting may not be fading or peeling, your plates are losing their reflectivity and are no longer as safe. Also, 2021 Wisconsin Act 163 now requires that older plates be replaced.

Reference:State Statute 341.16 (2) Issuance of Replacement Plate and 341.135 (2) Rebasing Registration Plates

​​​​​​Questions?
Envelope​​​ ​Email Wisconsin DMV email service​