Salesperson license

A retail dealer or recreational vehicle dealer employs salespersons to sell vehicles to the public.

Requirements:

  • Salespeople can sell for only one dealership at a time.
  • Salespeople who work for a dealership group may sell at all dealerships in the group without holding a separate license for each dealership.
  • Salespeople must be at least 18 years old.
  • Your employer may require a valid driver’s license but it is not needed to get a salesperson license. 
  • Pass the salesperson license exam.
  • Salespeople selling only recreational vehicles are exempt from the exam however you must fill out form MV2184 and meet all the other requirements.
  • For more information, please read the Motor Vehicle Salesperson Manual.

Note: Upon receipt of your application, the Department will perform a background check.  Your license application may be denied if you have been convicted of certain types of crimes. Learn more about license denials and your rights if you have been denied.

Steps to apply for a new salesperson license:

If you have never held a Wisconsin salesperson license, or your previous license expired more than 5 years ago, complete the following:

  • Pass the salesperson license exam at a DMV customer service center
  • Complete and print the Salesperson/Representative License Application form MV2184
  • Have your new employer complete and sign the bottom section of the form
  • Take your completed form and the appropriate application fee with you to the DMV customer service center when you take your salesperson exam
  • Include the appropriate fee as listed on the application form. Note: There is an additional $5 counter service fee for the exam

Video tutorial: How to apply for a salesperson license

The Motor Vehicle Salesperson Exam

  • The exam tests your knowledge of laws about vehicle disclosure, purchase contracts, record-keeping, advertising, and titling and registration. 
  • Study resource: Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) Motor Vehicle Salesperson Manual.
  • You must answer at least 36 of the 45 questions correctly to pass. 
  • You can take the exam as many times as necessary in order to pass. However, you must wait one day before retaking a failed test.
  • Take the Motor Vehicle Salesperson Exam at any DMV Customer Service Center. Allow at least 45 minutes for the exam. Exam fee is $5
  • If you need special accommodations for taking the written exam, contact the DMV customer service center where you wish to take the exam.

Veterans may qualify for a fee waiver for an initial license. Find out more!

Transfer an existing salesperson license

If you have held a valid Wisconsin salesperson license within the past five years, you may transfer your current or previous license by doing the following:

  • Complete and print the Salesperson/Representative License Application form MV2184
  • Have your new employer complete and sign the bottom section of the form
  • Include the appropriate fee as listed on the application form
  • You can only transfer a salesperson license if it is current and callid.

Mail your original completed signed application form to WisDOT's Dealer and Agent Section:

Wisconsin Dept. of Transportation                                                                                                                                     Dealer and Agent Section                                                                                                                                                      PO Box 7909                                                                                                                                                                          Madison, WI 53707-7909

Make your check payable to Registration Fee Trust.


 

Questions?