Northwest Region Highway Projects and Studies

​COVID-19 Update

Northwest region counties of Wisconsin


WisDOT continues to monitor the public health crisis as it applies to essential highway maintenance and construction projects. Workers ​who support the construction of critical or strategic infrastructure are considered essential by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

  • Wisconsin’s Safer at Home Order (Executive Order 12, issued March 24, 2020) allows travel for workers engaged in the operation and upkeep of infrastructure. No special documentation or permits are required.

  • Workers are expected to continue to take precautions against the spread of COVID-19 at the office and job site. Monitor the Wisconsin Department of Health for latest information and guidance.

With our partners in industry, we will strive to keep this construction season on schedule.


  • Public involvement meetings and open houses for transportation projects are suspended temporarily and will be rescheduled as soon as possible.

  • The department is reviewing options for alternative meeting formats.

  • WisDOT will continue to rely on public input to help shape transportation projects and policies.

Projects Under Construction

View active Northwest Region construction projects (511 Wisconsin projects)

Ashland County

Barron County

Bayfield County

Chippewa County

Douglas County

Dunn County

Dunn and St. Croix counties

Eau Claire County

  • US 12, Altoona - Fall Creek

Jackson County

Polk and Barron counties

St. Croix County

Trempealeau County

Projects in Design (Construction scheduled)

Ashland County

Barron County

Barron and Washburn counties

Bayfield and Ashland counties

Eau Claire County

Pierce County

Polk County

St. Croix County

Sawyer County

Washburn County

Planning Studies (Construction not scheduled)

Barron, Douglas and Washburn counties

Barron and Polk counties

Dunn County

St. Croix County

View other projects around the state under study or in design.

In This Together

Learn how WisDOT works with businesses located in work zones through the In This Together program.


Christena T. O'Brien
WisDOT Northwest Region Communications Manager
(715) 833-9814, (715) 828-9471

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Northwest Region, Eau Claire Office
718 W. Clairemont Ave.
Eau Claire, WI 54701
(715) 836-2891, (800) 991-5285
WI Telecommunications Relay System (TTY): 711

Northwest Region, Superior Office
1701 N. Fourth St.
Superior, WI 54880
(715) 392-7925, (800) 590-1868 
WI Telecommunications Relay System (TTY): 711